Skip to main content
You can view a list of NetApp Volumes where you have Owner, Editor, or Reader roles. You can edit the description and permissions if you are the Owner or Editor of a NetApp Volume.

View a list of usable NetApp Volumes

The Data menu in Domino lets you view a list of NetApp Volumes that are usable for your workspace.
  1. Close any projects and go to the main Domino screen.
  2. From the toolbar, click Data > NetApp Volumes.
  3. You’ll see a screen with a list of available NetApp Volumes.
The information shown in this list view for each NetApp Volume includes its Name, Owner, and Size, as well as:
  • Projects: Displays a list of projects that the NetApp Volume is associated with.
  • Snapshots: This shows the number of snapshots taken of the NetApp Volume. Clicking on a number shows a list of these snapshots.
  • Data Plane: This refers to the data plane to which the NetApp Volume is connected.
You can also view more granular details for individual NetApp Volumes.

View details of a NetApp Volume

Here is how you view the details of NetApp Volumes from a project:
  1. Open the Project with the NetApp Volume you want to view.
  2. From the left panel, click Data > NetApp Volumes.
  3. Find the volume in the NetApp Volumes list and click it.
The details page shows the volume name with a snapshot selector next to it, a Files tab that lists the volume’s files, and a details sidebar. On the Files tab, you can search the file list, choose which columns to show, upload files, and download or delete selected files from the Actions menu. The sidebar includes:
  • Description: A brief description of the NetApp Volume’s contents or purpose. If you have the Editor or Owner role, you can edit the volume description.
  • Data Plane: This refers to the data plane to which the NetApp Volume is connected.
  • Storage name: The name of the storage file system that backs the NetApp Volume.
  • Storage path: The location that the data is written to and read from.
  • Max snapshots: The maximum number of snapshots the volume can keep.
  • Tags and Properties: The tags and Property values assigned to the volume.

Edit details of a NetApp Volume

You can rename the volume, edit the description, and change permissions. Changing the volume name alters its mount path, which can cause errors in scripts that rely on a specific volume name. If you are the Owner or Editor of a NetApp Volume, edit details by:
  1. From the toolbar, click Data > NetApp Volumes.
  2. Find the volume in the NetApp Volumes list.
  3. Click the name of the volume you want to edit.
  4. In the details sidebar, click the Description edit icon, update the text, and save your change.
  5. Rename the NetApp Volume by clicking the three dots and choosing Rename Volume.
    1. Click Confirm to accept the change or Cancel to exit.
  6. Change permissions by clicking Share at the top of the details page.

Take a snapshot of your data

You can snapshot your data without incurring duplication. To do so, you’ll need either Owner or Editor permissions to snapshot all files in a NetApp Volume.
  1. From the toolbar, click Data > NetApp Volumes.
  2. Find the volume in the NetApp Volumes list.
  3. Click the name of the volume you want to snapshot.
  4. On the Files tab, click Take Snapshot. The button is unavailable when the volume has reached its maximum number of snapshots.
  5. Expand the snapshot selector next to the volume name, labeled Latest data by default, to view a list of snapshots for that volume.

Delete a snapshot of a NetApp Volume

Deleting a snapshot is permanent. You need permission to delete the NetApp Volume to delete its snapshots; without it, the Delete Snapshot button is unavailable.
  1. From the toolbar, click Data > NetApp Volumes.
  2. Find the volume in the NetApp Volumes list.
  3. Click the name of the volume you want to view.
  4. In the snapshot selector next to the volume name, select the snapshot you want to delete. Domino shows a read-only view of the snapshot.
  5. On the Files tab, click Delete Snapshot.
  6. At the prompt, choose Delete to delete the snapshot or Cancel to exit.

Next steps

Last modified on September 9, 2026